Contents

hide

Edit info: figures are not up-to-date (2008-03-31). Text to revise.

4.2 Create, Open, Close and Save database

This section explains how to create, to open, to close and to save a Geopsy database. The concept of a Geopsy database has been presented in section Database.

Creating a database on disk

First load the original signal files as described in section Load signal files to create the database in memory. Click on menu "File" and select "Create database". You will be prompted for a directory name and path with the common file dialog box. The name of the directory is the name of the database. On clicking on "Save", Geopsy will create the directory and it will store all files as described in section File structure.

If some signals were modified with any processing tools (Basic signal processing), the corresponding files are saved in the same way as Saving a database.

Opening an existing database

This operation requires that no signals are loaded in the current database. Click on menu "File" and select "Open database". Alternatively, you can click on the "Open database" icon from the tool bar (). The open file dialog box lets you select the appropriate database (".sdb" files). On clicking on "Open", the files are loaded into memory as well as the groups previously defined.

The ".sdb" file contains the absolute file paths of all original files to open. If the location of these files changes (directories or files renamed), a warning will be issued as shown in figure 1.

load signal

Figure 1: Warning issued when signal files cannot be found.

If you want to skip the file not found, just hit "Yes". Be careful that on the next "Save database" the file will be permanently removed from the database (not removed from the disk). If the file still exists but has been moved to another location, hit "No". You will be prompted to enter the new path to this file with the classical open file dialog box. A path translator is automatically constructed to avoid repetitive warnings. You must hit "Save database" once to store the new paths into the ".sdb" file. "Cancel" just stops the database opening, all other signal files are skipped.

Closing a database

load signal

Figure 2: Context menu of "Files" list.

Select "Close database" from menu "File". You will be prompted for closing all active viewers. This is normal because viewers have references to signals that will be removed by this action. If header information or signals were modified, you will be asked to save the database first.

Contrary to other actions described in this section, "Close database" also works when no database is opened or created. In this case, it unloads all files (loosing modifications if any).

If no named database was opened, but signal files were loaded individually, this operation clears all signals from memory but without offering the option to save changes.

Saving a database on disk

This operation requires that a database has been created or opened. Click on menu "File" and select "Save database". Alternatively, you can click on the "Save database" icon from the tool bar (). The changes brought to the header information and any new signals added to the database are saved in the ".sdb" file. The original signal files are left untouched.

If the samples of some signals were modified by any processing tools (Basic signal processing), the signals are saved in a Geopsy Database binary format in the database directory. The name is identical to the original file plus "_n" where n is chosen to avoid any overwriting of exiting files. The newly generated files are added to the database as usual files. A flag (IsOriginalFile) allows the user to distinguish between original and modified signals.